Tourist Information Distributors Australia
Tourist Information Distributors Australia
Exploring Adelaide

Welcome to

Marion, south western suburb

The district of Marion, located 10 kms south-west of the Adelaide CBD, covers 55 square kms and stretches from Glenelg in the north to Hallett Cove in the south.

Marion includes the suburbs of Ascot Park, Bedford Park, Clovelly Park, Darlington, Dover Gardens, Edwardstown, Glandore, Glengowrie, Hallett Cove, Marino, Marion, Mitchell Park, Morphettville, O'Halloran Hill, Oaklands Park, Park Holme, Plympton Park, Seacliff Park, Seacombe Gardens, Seacombe Heights, Seaview Downs, Sheidow Park, South Plympton, Sturt, Trott Park and Warradale.

The area  has a topographical diversity that includes plains with huge gum trees along the Sturt river rising to the southern foothills with the fascinating geographical cliffs of Hallet Cove where there are walking trails.

The original inhabitants of Marion were the Kaurna people. The Sturt River and surrounding bushland  provided much of their food and needs.

In the early part of the last century, Marion was the fruit bowl of the Adelaide Plains before the post-war building boom. Almonds, peaches, apricots, vegetables and olives grew alongside vineyards. All that remains of that era today is the historic vineyard on Oaklands Road near the Marion Swimming Centre. Part of the Hamilton Vineyard, the vines were planted by Frank Hamilton in 1905 and are still in production, rare in an urban area.

Natural attractions include conservation and recreation parks, rivers and a rugged coastline.