Tumby Bay was named by Matthew Flinders in 1802. The townshiop was settled in the 1840s and became an important grain loading port and even boasted a flour mill.
Today the town is an important service centre and popular visitor destination. There are ample shops, eating places and a range of accommodation.
Tumby Bay, renowned for its fishing, has a boat ramp and jetty. The Interpretive Mangrove Boardwalk gives an insight into marine ecology.
Panoramic views from The Island Lookout take in a wide vista and coin operated BBQs are provided.
Sir Joseph Banks Group of Islands is a marine conservation park with fish breeding grounds and prolific birdlife. There are resident sea lions and dolphins are often seen.
CL Alexander National Trust Museum and Excell Blacksmith & Engineering Workshop display local heritage.
There are numerous sporting facilities including yacht club, golf club, lawn bowls, tennis courts and squash courts, croquet, netball, basketball and shooting range.
Trinity Haven Scenic Drive along the coast meanders past sheltered bays and beaches.
Clydesdale Horse Trolley rides operate during holidays adding to the town’s relaxed lifestyle.
Koppio Smithy Museum complex is just 30 kms away in the picturesque Koppio Hills. Nearby Glendara Rose Garden at Koppio displays more than 800 roses. Yallunda Flat Show and Picnic Grounds provide wood and gas BBQs. In spring the wildflowers are plentiful.
Lipson Cove, north of Tumby Bay is a favourite fishing spot where a variety of fish can be caught. At low tide you can walk across to Lipson Island, a coastal sanctuary with prolific birdlife.
Trinity Haven Scenic Drive meanders south of Tumby Bay via Second Creek and Trinity Haven to Redcliffs and Thuruna with numerous sheltered beaches along the way.